To Play the Fool

The role of saint is one I do not wish

Yet it is forced upon me as the halo fits

So I am consumed by others, their issues and joy

But what about my happiness and the times I cry

 

Shoved in my face the happiness I helped to care

Contrasting the deepening hole, into which I fell

In this place I find no light, just darkness and screams

So in shadows I am unable to hide the truths I can never tell

 

When the world shows me it’s worse, teeth and claws unleashed

Then casts it all upon me in cruel recourse, no shred of remorse

How can I open up to others, this broken soul I am forced to keep

The judgement unkind, that I know others will unkindly show

 

Depression, sadness, loneliness, hollowness and shame

Once things I would have avoided with such distain

Now my constant companions on the declining road

To the bloody altar of life, my journeys new goal

 

Cast me a saint

Cast me a sinner

Cast me a freak

Cast me your fool

 

Just make it quick

When you sacrifice my spirit

Cut my confidence

Bury my joy

To those that know not

What suffering I endure

One thought on “To Play the Fool

  1. Pingback: Me! | Ghost of a Shadow

Leave a Reply

