I’ll be blunt!

There was a time in this world when things were simple, there wasn’t running water, toilets, modern medicine or the NHS I will admit but it was simpler!

For employment a man would go to a manor house and say “I’m willing to work, willing to learn and I’m doing this because I need to support my family” to which the reply would be “We need a stable hand and cleaner, if you last the day you’re hired” as a senior member of the household staff would show that man around.

Years later another man would show up and say “I’m willing to work, willing to learn and I’m doing this because I need to support my family” to which our original man, if the job suited, would now be a senior member of the household staff and be given the task of showing around his eventual replacement.

As far as finding relationships were concerned it could be equally simple “Glad you could make it to my party; I’d like you to meet someone” as the gracious (married!) host introduces you to a group of fellow singles, conversation ensues. Years later you greet your single friend and say “Glad you could make it to my party; I’d like you to meet someone” and as the gracious host you introduce them to a group of fellow singles, and so the process repeats.

I admit this rather simplistic view of the world has become a tad dated; modern social dictate might even laugh at the ridiculous straightforwardness of the processes I’ve described but I ask you, and I want you to really think about this… If you had the choice, what would you choose; Modern minefields of complexity or old world simplicity and blunt honesty. I may have glossed over a myriad of social revolution and historical events that have occurred to get civilisation to this point but you get the idea, and now to get to the original point of my title, no more detours I promise!

Bluntness; the art of being direct and to the point without fluffy crap, does it still have a place in the modern world and why does it apparently offend people so much, the even finer art of not been ‘spiked club to the cranium’ style blunt not forgotten.

By the delivery and subject matter of the opening paragraphs my personal views are no doubt clear on this subject, for the sake of rational subjectivity however I do recognise the free choice and rights we enjoy in this new age do somewhat improve life, the fact I’m typing this onto my laptop as I sit in my warm flat does not escape me!

The depressingly single and job hunting social anxiety sufferer who would love nothing better than tactically be ruthlessly clear about what he wants, in the aid of cutting the bullshit he has to go through to get it, does somewhat scream fanatically however. The screams in question aimed at the fact I need a stylist, publicist, agent and a CV written by the greatest bards to be offered jobs that go completely against my nature, whilst studying rocket science and quantum physics to fabricate a scientifically proven dating profile or approach a women in a social environment with any success.

So I repeat the question; If you had the choice, what would you choose; Modern minefields of complexity or old world simplicity and blunt honesty?

As to my answer, I’ll be blunt!

Leave a Reply

