A Brother’s Eyes

Once read, delete from your mind

For the words typed here are of a forgotten time

No mortal allowed to hold the feelings thought

Unless they too were drowning in that river deep

Of a time when all was darkness and shadow

And we found an absence of light

I look into his eyes, as a mirror of my life

My flesh and blood, we are the same

 –<>–

The faults that run deep

The two of us, on each other we are stuck

As the only ones who know the trails

That separately we have endured

 –<>–

In canyons of pain

Suffering the same, yet no words are spoke

Our own games we play

Our own battles we fight

 –<>–

And as I face what I could be

And in my face, he sees the same

The same mortal build, from which we come

Put together differently

 –<>–

To take the best of what we are

And give it form

Would make perfection weep

But we are both made up of the same

Positive blade and negative edge

 –<>–

I feel a question and wonder to myself

If my brothers eyes are as a mirror dark

Then who’s reflection most voids the light

And whose demons burn as bright

Leave a Reply

